Gardner Campbell – Personal Cyberinfrastructure

Posted: April 9, 2012 in Uncategorized

Discuss your thoughts and feelings about being a university student in the digital age. What do you hope to gain from your university experience. Do Campbell’s ideas about a personal cyberinfrastructure resonate with you? Explain why or why not.

In this day and age, it is more important than ever to integrate one’s life with the digital world. Just like how the pen and paper revolutionized the world years ago, digital technology has forever changed how we interact with one another. As a university student, i feel that being “digitally competent” is vital to succeed in today’s competitive ecosystem. HTML, servers, etc are all mandatory components of the educational system, and therefore it is essential that we integrate those tools into our lives. I appreciate the services that are offered thanks to the digital revolution. Whether it’s checking my grades online, or registering for classes with a few simple clicks, it has undoubtedly made life less stressful. It is the way of the future and it must be further perpetuated within the educational system.

In terms of “gaining something” from my university experience, I hope that I will gain the ability to use the digital world in a complementary manner with my college experience. I find it hard to pin point specific gains, for I lack the detailed knowledge of the digital world. Perhaps a way to boost productivity by utilizing certain tools? Learning how to operate the internet in a fashion that will allow me to reach a point i otherwise would not be able to? The possibilities are literally endless. It is up to the university to provide students like myself with digital age tools and services. I am up for anything my university throws at me. I look at every new experience as a “gain”.

Campbell’s ideas about a personal cyberinfrastructure certainly meets my criteria in terms of how I would like my university to handle this change of pace we are facing as a society. It starts with the faculty, who must lead by example. As students, we will follow them into the digital age and explore the world which has yet to fully blossom. Sugar coating the digital world with subpar tools is simply not acceptable. The faculty and staff must fully explore the possibilities of digital integration into school systems in order for students to progress and succeed.

Comments
  1. Paul says:

    I think it is a university’s job to challenge students and introduce them to new ideas, but don’t forget that the internet is something that can be explored without academic goading.

  2. lockmantuj says:

    Paul’s comment is exactly what I was reading while reading your post. You seem to suggest that it is the schools responsibility to instruct students on how to use the webe as a research and learning tool.

    Suppose you were to wind up at a school where the faculty and staff didn’t see value or know how to instruct students in how to use the web.

    I fully agree with Paul that such explorations can be conducted without direct prompting or guidance from the institution.

  3. lei_187 says:

    Paul, i appreciate your comment. I agree with you to a certain extent, but without proper guidance i feel that some students will not be able to experience the possibilities of the digital world to it’s full extent.

Leave a Reply

