Is this real life?

Posted: January 17, 2012 in Uncategorized

It’s 8:30PM in Tokyo. I am currently video chatting with a friend in Los Angeles while checking the latest world news on google reader. How is this possible? No, it’s not global warming. It’s all thanks to what we commonly refer to as, the internet. The internet has become a vital part of my everyday life. I use it to keep in touch with family and friends, to stay updated with the news, and most importantly, to waste my life away on youtube and tumblr. It’s a limitless tool that changed the world as we knew it. Business meeting? Buying newspapers? Shopping at the mall? Please, thats so 1865. Thanks to the internet, we have been blessed with video conferencing, CNN.com, and online shopping.

I will say this, however. Now that we are so interconnected on a global level, it seems that we have (more than ever before) distanced ourselves from one another in “real life”. Why call or meet up with a friend to catch up when everything there is to know about his or her life is all over facebook and twitter?

Don’t get me wrong, i love the internet. I really do. I think the internet is a beautiful thing. It allows the entire world to come together and communicate with one another. But i do believe it’s important to balance internet life and real life. When my mother’s birthday comes around next month, ill be sure to tweet her a happy birthday message call her and wish her a happy birthday.

 

Comments
  1. lockmantuj says:

    I’m so impressed with the deep thinking you and your classmates are putting in to these introductory posts. The point you mention about how this connectedness actually serves to distance us from one another is such an important point to consider. I had hoped we would get to raise such a question at a later point in the semester.

    That you have put it on the table so early, delights me to no end. Please keep hold of that thought and try to work it in to some some of your work this semester, if you have such an interest. I’d love to hear what you come up with.

Leave a Reply

